Threads
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    374 Post(s)

Got Lost In The Woods!

Last week I took my wife for a hike in the woods to teach her the skills she would need if civilization ends and we had to leave our home without any survival equipment. Things didn't go as I'd hoped, and I had to admit I'd gotten us really, really lost. I did remember that the trail we came in on was sort of south, but there was no moss on the trees and it was an overcast day, so those methods didn't work. After wandering aimlessly for over an hour, I spotted an old log cabin in the distance. I studied the cabin carefully, then announced “we go this way”. Within minutes we were back on the trail and on our way home.

My wife was duly impressed! “How did you know which way to go?” she asked.

“Easy” I told her. “I just looked at the old cabin. In this part of the country satellite dishes point south.”

Bada Bing!

John W in SC

Asst. Administrator Rep Power: 100
    Rep Level: PDF Bronze Member
    Threads
    Mentioned
    108 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1873 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by John W in SC View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Last week I took my wife for a hike in the woods to teach her the skills she would need if civilization ends and we had to leave our home without any survival equipment. Things didn't go as I'd hoped, and ...
    Makes a person appreciate the utility of a simple "go bag" in the arsenal. A little state map, a compass, paper/pencil, fire-starting gear, water purification tabs, a noise-maker (loud whistle), a light-maker (a small mirror), flashlight, a mini first-aid kit.

It's been a few years since I went into the back country and went through the orienteering/survival routine.

As you showed, little indicators can be "gold" out there.